Sympathie pour le diable

Sarajevo, November 92, seven months after the beginning of the siege, Paul Marchand, a war correspondent, tries to bear witness to a fratricidal war, to the daily life of 400,000 inhabitants taken hostage by Serbian troops under the impassive gaze of the international community. Provocatively he inscribed on his car the famous “Morituri te salutant” and “Don’t waste your bullets I’m immortal”. Between journalistic objectivity, the feeling of being useless and a certain sense of duty, faced with the horror and injustice of these innocent victims, Paul Marchand takes sides.


Guillaume de Fontenay


Guillaume de Fontenay
Guillaume Vigneault
Jean Barbe
and the collaboration of Paul Marchand


Marc Stanimirovic
Jean-Yves Robin
Nicole Robert
Pascal Bascaron


Niels Schneider
Ella Rumpf
Vincent Rottiers
Clément Métayer
Arieh Worthalter
Elisa Lasowski

Official selection

Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma, Montréal, 2020
Cinessonne, France 2019
Mostra of Sao Paulo, Brasil, 2019
L’autre cinéma, France, 2019
Cinémania, Canada, 2019
Arras Film Festival, France, 2019
Mostra of Valencia, Spain, 2019
Waterloo Historical Film Festival, Belgium, 2019
Festival Jean Carmet, France, 2019
Saint-Jean de Luz International Film Festival, France, 2019
Prix Bayeux Calvados, France, 2019

Rendez-vous Québec Cinéma 2020

Nomination – Gilles-Carle Award – Best first or second feature film
Nomination – Jacques Marcotte Award – Best screenplay
Nomination – Prix Collégial du Cinéma Québecois (PCCQ)

Gala Québec Cinéma 2020

Gagnant – Best first film
Gagnant – Achievement in sound
Gagnant – Achievement in visual effects
Nomination – Best director
Nomination – Best screenplay
Nomination – Best actor in a leading role – Niels Schneider

2020 Canadian Screen Awards

Nomination – Best adapted screenplay
Nomination – Best Visual effects
Nomination – Best first film

Les Rencontres Cinessonne, France, 2019

Winner – Audience’s “Coup de coeur”
Winner – Jury La Carte’s “Coup de coeur”
Winner – Students Jury’s “Coup de coeur”
Winner – Jury La Maif’ “Coup de coeur”

Festival International de Saint-Jean de Luz, France, 2019

Winner – Best film
Winner – Young jury award
Winner – Best actor – Niels Schneider
Winner – Audience award

Festival Jean Carmet, France, 2019

Winner – Audience award for best supporting actress – Ella Rumpf

Waterloo Historical Film Festival, Belgium, 2019

Winner – Best actor – Niels Schneider
Winner – Best actress – Ella Rumpf
Winner – Audience award
Winner – Young jury award