The Porter

Set in the early 1920s and inspired by real events, The Porter follows train porters Junior Massey and Zeke Garrett, and their friends and families, as a tragedy on the job sets them on starkly different paths to a better life. While Junior takes advantage of a broken system to pursue money and power in gambling and bootlegging, Zeke fights the railway to change the system from within by unionizing the Black porters. As it becomes clear that Junior and Zeke’s goals are in direct conflict with each other, their once unbreakable bond is stretched to its limits. Can a friendship forged in the trenches of war survive this new fight for freedom— or will they have to betray each other and their community to make their dreams reality?



ICI Télé




Created and developed by

Marsha Greene
Annmarie Morais

Created by

Aubrey Nealon
Arnold Pinnock
Bruce Ramsay

Writers/Executive Producers

Aml Ameen
Ronnie Rowe Jr.
Mouna Traoré
Loren Lott
Olunike Adeliyi
Alfre Woodard


Aubrey Nealon
Bruce Ramsay
Andrew Burrows-Trotman
Arnold Pinnock
Priscilla M. White


Daphne Park


Sphere Media (formerly Sienna Films)
Inferno Pictures 


Aml Ameen
Ronnie Rowe Jr.
Mouna Traoré
Loren Lott
Olunike Adeliyi
Alfre Woodard

Directors/Executive Producers

Charles Officer
R.T .Thorne 

Executive producers

Jennifer Kawaja
Ian Dimerman
Bruno Dubé
Aml Ameen
Alfre Woodard

Co-executive producers

Elise Cousineau
Andrea Glinski
Steve Cochrane
Bruce Ramsay



Lisa Cichelly 

2023 Canadian Cinema Editors Awards

Winner – Best Editing in TV Drama – Episode 102
Nomination – Best Editing in TV Drama – Episode 104

Annual Canadian Society of Cinematographer Awards 2023

Nomination – Dramatic Series Cinematography – Commercial

2023 Rockie Awards

Nomination – Drama Series: English language

2023 WGC Awards

Winner – Drama Series, “Episode 104”, written by Marsha Greene

2023 Canadian Screen Awards

Winner – Best Drama Series
Winner – Best Direction, Drama Series – Charles Officer
Winner – Best Writing, Drama Series – Marsha Greene
Winner – Best Photography, Drama
Winner – Best Picture Editing, Drama- Sandy Perreira
Winner – Best Production Design or Art Direction, Fiction
Winner – Best Costume Design
Winner – Best Achievement in Make-Up
Winner – Best Achievement in Hair
Winner – Best Original Music, Drama
Winner – Best Original Music – Original Song – “Songbird”
Winner – Best Guest Performance, Drama Series – Alfre Woodard
Nomination – Best Direction, Drama Series – R.T. Thorne
Nomination – Best Writing, Drama Series – Annmarie Moris, Aubrey Nealon
Nomination – Best Picture Editing, Drama – Dev Sing
Nomination – Best Sound, Fiction
Nomination – Best Lead Performer, Drama Series – Aml Ameen
Nomination – Best Lead Performer, Drama Series – Ronnie Rowe Jr.
Nomination – Best Lead Performer, Drama Series – Mouna Traoré

2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Nomination – Best New Scripted Series
Nomination – Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series – Aml Ameen

2022 Rose d'or Awards

Short list – Drama category

2022 DGC Awards

Winner – Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series
Winner – Best Sound Editing – Dramatic Series

Nomination – Best Picture Editing – Dramatic Series

2022 74th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards

Nomination – Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming