February 15, 2022

2022 Canadian Screen Awards: Sphere Media group receives an impressive 27 nominations

We are happy to announce we have received 27 nominations at the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards. Honored productions are Sort Of (Sienna Films), TransplantOne of Ours (Sienna Films), Gabby’s Farm (BGM) and Haunted Hospitals (BGM).

More specifically, Sort Of picked up 13 nominations in total, including Best Comedy Series, as well as three nominations for writing and two directing nods. Transplant gets nine nominations including Best Drama Series and three performance nods: Best Lead Actor, Drama Series Hamza Haq, Best Lead Actress Laurence Leboeuf, and supporting actress Ayisha Issa. Showrunner Joseph Kay also receives one nomination for writing. Both Sort of and Transplant’s casts stand out as they have been nominated for Best Achievement in Casting, Fiction.

Furthermore, Documentary film One of Ours has been nominated for 3 awards: Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary, Best Direction and Writing, Documentary Program. Gabby’s Farm and Haunted Hospitals have both picked up a nomination of their own, Gabby’s Farm for Best Children’s or Youth Non-Fiction Program or Series and Haunted Hospitals for Best Direction, Factual.

“I am very proud that the hard work of our teams has paid off this year. These nominations demonstrate the depth of talent, passion and creativity of our creators, producers, actors and artisans,” said Bruno Dubé, President and CEO. “Once again, we have shown that with the original, high-quality and diverse stories we tell, we succeed in touching the minds and hearts of people.”

Also, eight films from the WaZabi Films distribution catalog have received 24 additional nominations. The Quebec production Drunken Birds has picked up six nominations, including Best Motion Picture, Achievement in Cinematography, Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role (Claude Legault) and Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role (Marine Johnson). Maria Chapdelaine has received four nominations, whereas Brain Freeze has been given three nods. Other important nominations include: Adapted screenplay and Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role (David La Haye) for Confessions of a Hitman, Achievement in Cinematography and Adapted Screenplay for You Will Remember Me and Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary for My Tree.

Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television’s Canadian Screen Awards celebrate annually the country’s top talent in the film, television and digital sectors. The winners of the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards will be announced in a series of  ceremonies beginning on April 4, culminating in the Canadian Screen Awards broadcast on CBC and Gem on April 10.

Nomination details:

Sort Of

Best Comedy Series (Bilal Baig, Fab Filippo, Jennifer Kawaja, Julia Sereny, Bruno Dubé)

Best Direction, Comedy (Renuka Jeyapalan – Sort Of A Party)

Best Direction, Comedy (Fab Filippo  – Sort Of Mary Poppins)

Best Writing, Comedy (Jenn Engels – Sort Of Back)

Best Writing, Comedy (Bilal Baig, Fab Filippo – Sort Of Gone)

Best Writing, Comedy (Ian Iqbal Rashid – Sort Of Mary Poppins)

Best Photography, Comedy (Stephen Reizes – Sort Of Stable)

Best Picture Editing, Comedy (Sam Thomson, Craig Webster – Sort Of Back Again)

Best Sound, Fiction (Daryl Purdy, Paul Germann, Martin Gwynn Jones, Graham Rogers, Kevin Schultz, Jenna Dalla Riva, Goro Koyama – Sort Of Miracle)

Best Production Design or Art Direction, Fiction (Chris Crane, Joël Guzman – Sort Of A Party)

Best Costume Design (Shelley Mansell – Sort Of Back Again)

Best Achievement in Make-Up (Jessica Carter, Steve Newburn – Sort Of Back Again)

Best Achievement in Casting, Fiction (Jon Comerford)


Best Drama Series (Jocelyn Deschênes, Bruno Dubé, Joseph Kay, Tara Woodbury, Virginia Rankin, Josée Vallée, Stefan Pleszczynski, Adam Barken)

Best Writing, Drama Series (Joseph Kay –Free For What)

Best Photography, Drama (Pierre Gill – Guardrail)

Best Picture Editing, Drama (Annie Ilkow – Contact)

Best Achievement in Make-Up (Bruno Gatien, Julie Brisebois – Guardrail)

Best Lead Actor, Drama Series (Hamza Haq)

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series (Laurence Leboeuf)

Best Supporting Actress, Drama (Ayisha Issa)

Best Achievement In Casting, Fiction (Andrea Kenyon, Randi Wells, Jason Knight, John Buchan)

One of Ours

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary (Yasmine Mathurin, Laura Perlmutter, Jennifer Kawaja, Andrew Nicholas McCann Smith)

Best Direction, Documentary Program (Yasmine Mathurin)

Best Writing, Documentary (Yasmine Mathurin)

Gabby’s Farm

Best Children’s or Youth Non-Fiction Program or Series (Bruno Dubé, Marlo Miazga, Sean Connolly, Corinna Lehr, Daniel Bourré, Chloe Gray, Marney Malabar, Augustin Guevara)

Haunted Hospitals

Best Direction, Factual (Robin Bicknell – A Spiteful Spirit, and The Portal)